Call: 01746 760505

IT Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate



Why study IT?

We live in the 21st century and today everything is about technology. Information is paramount and Information Technology (IT) influences all kinds of activity. Employers are calling out for people who can help them develop their systems or the systems for their customers, and use IT as a tool to analyse data and develop applications. This qualification is designed to give students a range of specialist knowledge and transferable skills in context of Applied IT.

What skills are required?

Normally, a student would choose OCR Cambridge Technical Extended Certificate in IT because they have successfully gained Level 2 qualifications in a similar or related subject, but there are no formal entry or prior learning requirements for this qualification.

Students studying IT benefit from having the following skills: problem solving, planning, organisation, communication and team work.

It is important that you also have a keen interest in IT and developments in IT.

Course Content

In the first year you will study the following units:

  • Unit 1: Fundamentals of IT
  • Unit 2: Global Information

During this year you will prepare for 2 examinations. Prior to your unit 2 exam you will be provided with a case study from the examination board. This is used to prepare for section A of the unit 2 examination.  

In the second year of study you will study for one external examination and complete two pieces of coursework.


  • Unit 3: Cyber Security

Similar to unit 2, prior to your unit 3 exam you will be provided with a case study from the examination board. This is used to prepare for section A of the unit 3 examination. 


  • Unit 8: Project Management
  • Unit 9: Product Development

For your coursework you will study the theoretical aspects of each unit as well as the practical skills required to complete your coursework. The coursework will be based around a client brief. Your solution will need to meet both client and user requirements.

How will it be assessed?

Mandatory units: 67% of final grade: Unit 1, Unit 2, Unit 3

  • Unit 1 & 2 Exam:
  • 1.5 hours
  • 80 marks
  • Unit 3 Exam
  • 1 hour
  • 60 marks
  • Graded: Pass, Merit or Distinction

Optional units: 33% of final grade: Unit 8, Unit 9

  • Coursework project

  • Graded: Pass, Merit or Distinction


Students could progress onto to a related Higher Education (HE) course, a Level 4 apprenticeship such as Software Developer or into employment in the IT sector in areas such as technical support, digital technologies or application development.

Typical job roles are; Web Application Developer, Application Developer, Web or Application Designer, Software Analyst, Network Manager or technical support such as an IT technician.



Back to top